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Compliance and Enforcement Division 
 May 4, 2010 

 Compliance Advisory 
This Advisory is provided to inform you about activities of the Air District which may affect your operation.  It is 
intended to assist you in your effort to achieve and maintain compliance with applicable air pollution regulations. 

ATTENTION: DRY CLEANING OPERATIONS USING 
PERCHLOROETHYLENE (PERC) 

SUBJECT: FACILITIES SUBJECT TO PHASE-OUT OF 
PERCHLOROETHYLENE DRY CLEANING MACHINES 

 
By July 1, 2010, the following dry cleaning facilities with Perchlorethylene (PERC) solvent 
machines must either replace the equipment or cease operating and must remove the 
PERC equipment from service:  

● Co-residential dry cleaning operations; 
● Operations using converted machines with PERC solvent; 
● Operations with PERC solvent machines manufactured prior to July 1, 1995   or 

with an unknown manufacture date. 
 
Any of these dry cleaner operations that fail to cease operating their PERC 
machines by July 1, 2010 are in violation of the Air District’s Regulation for 
Perchloroethylene and Synthetic Solvent Dry Cleaning (Regulation 11-16) and state 
law (California Air Resources Board ATCM for Emissions of Perchloroethylene from 
Dry Cleaning Operations - California Code of Regulation, Section 93109, Title 17). 
 
Also, after July 1, 2010, all dry cleaning operations with PERC solvent equipment with a 
date of manufacture after July 1, 1995 must either replace the equipment or cease 
operating when the machine reaches 15 years of age.  Some of these machines will reach 
the 15 year age limit within the coming year.   
 
The Air District will take enforcement action on those dry cleaners not in compliance by the 
deadline and they will be issued a citation; however, some non-complying dry cleaners 
will be allowed to operate up to July 1, 2011 while working toward compliance 
provided the following actions are taken:  
 
The owner/operator must contact the District’s Legal Division representative and 
enter into a Compliance and Settlement Agreement (Compliance Schedule) to 
comply with these requirements.  Co-residential facilities are NOT eligible for the 
Compliance Schedule Agreement and must comply by July 1, 2010.  A dry cleaning facility 
located within the same building as a residence or that shares a common wall, floor or 
ceiling with a residence is “co-residential.” 
 
 
 
 
           Over → 
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Contact information: 

 
Office of the District Counsel 
939 Ellis Street 
San Francisco, CA 94109 
(415) 749-4920 

 
The Compliance Schedule is a legally binding contract and will include the following 
elements: 

• Extended deadlines to complete the phase-out of the PERC machines; and 
• Penalties for being in violation: 

▪ Eligible non-complying Dry Cleaners will pay cumulative penalties for each   
quarter of non-compliance → 

► 1st quarter - $250 
► 2nd quarter - an additional $500 
► 3rd quarter - an additional $750 
► 4th quarter - an additional $1000  
 

The maximum penalty for one year of non-compliance to July 1, 2011 is $2500.   
 
Failure to meet the extended deadlines, or to comply with the Compliance Schedule, can 
result in higher penalties. 
 
Note:  The District reserves the right to change or modify these enforcement procedures at 
any time, without prior notification. 
 
More Information can be obtained from the following sources: 

 For further questions regarding this Advisory, contact Janet Simon, Air Quality 
Specialist, at (415) 749-4780. 

 For compliance assistance, call (415) 749-4999, the Compliance Counselor Hotline. 
 For permit assistance or Authority to Construct application forms, visit 

http://www.baaqmd.gov/pmt/index.htm or call (415) 749-4990, Engineering. 
 
 

Kelly J. Wee 
Director of Compliance and Enforcement 
Bay Area Air Quality Management District 
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