

Plug-in Electric Vehicle (PEV) Rebates for Public Agencies in FYE 2016 PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

General Requirements:

- Only **Public Agencies within the Air District's jurisdiction** are eligible.
- Each Public Agency is **limited to a maximum of \$90,000 in Voucher awards per fiscal year.** Depending on the availability of funds, the Air District may, at its sole discretion, raise the maximum award limit.
- PEV Rebate Vouchers are available in the following amounts for the following vehicle types:
 - **\$2,500** per light-duty zero-emission vehicle, *including battery electric vehicles (BEV) and fuel cell hydrogen vehicles (FCH);*
 - **\$1,000** per light-duty plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV);
 - **\$500** per zero-emission neighborhood electric vehicle (NEV); and
 - **\$2,500** per zero-emission motorcycle (ZEM).
- Vouchers will be issued for the purchase or lease of qualifying new vehicles; voucher recipients will only be reimbursed for vehicles included in the Air District's Approved List of Vehicles and identified in the voucher.
- Vouchers may only be redeemed for vehicle(s) acquired after the date the voucher is issued and that are registered with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 120 days from the date the voucher is issued. *Voucher recipients will not be reimbursed for vehicles that were acquired before a voucher was issued or that are not registered by this deadline.*
- Vouchers may not be used to purchase or lease vehicles for the purpose of meeting emission reductions required by federal, state, or local regulation; judicial order; agreement; memorandum of understanding; contract; mitigation requirement; or other binding obligation.

Voucher Recipients must agree to the following requirements:

- Obtain any and all required licenses, permits, and any other required legal authorizations from all applicable federal, state and local jurisdictions for the operation of Voucher-funded vehicles.
- Operate each of the Voucher-funded vehicles within the Air District's jurisdiction for at least 15,000 miles and for at least three years from the date that the vehicle is registered ("Operational Period".)
- Complete the following tasks within 120 days from the date a Voucher is issued; *Note, Vouchers expire 120 days from the date they are issued:*
 - 1. Acquire (purchase or lease) the approved vehicle(s);
 - 2. Register Voucher-funded vehicles with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in the Voucher recipient's name;
 - 3. Acknowledge the Air District as a project funding source by, at the minimum, affixing the Air District's logo on all Voucher- funded vehicles.
 - 4. Submit a PEV Rebate Program Vehicle Purchase Form that includes the following documentation:
 - Vehicle Purchase Agreement (i.e. purchase receipt, invoice);
 - *Proof of insurance;*
 - Department of Motor Vehicle Registration;
 - Photos of the vehicle's odometer and showing that the Air District's logo has been affixed on the vehicle.

Questions? Contact us by email at grants@baaqmd.gov (subject "RE: PEV Rebate") or by phone at (415) 749-4994
September 1, 2015
Page | 1



Plug-in Electric Vehicle (PEV) Rebates for Public Agencies in FYE 2016 PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

- Allow the Air District to inspect the Voucher-funded vehicle(s) and to audit program records for compliance with the PEV Rebate Program requirements for the duration of the project.
- Obtain and maintain the following insurance throughout the Operational Period:
 - *Liability Insurance* with a limit of not less than \$1 million per occurrence, of the type usual and customary to the business of the Project Sponsor, that also covers the Voucher-funded vehicle(s); and
 - *Property Insurance* in an amount of not less than the insurable value of the PEV Rebate Program funded equipment, and covering all risks of loss, damage or destruction of equipment.
- Submit Annual Monitoring Reports, for the duration of the Operational Period (minimum of three years), covering 12 consecutive months of vehicle operation. These reports will include annual vehicle mileage, percent of operating hours within the boundaries of the Air District, proof of insurance, DMV registration, and photo of each vehicle odometer.
- Reimburse the Air District a prorated share of the amount of funds awarded in the event that any of the **Program Requirements are not met.** The prorated share will be based on the remaining contract term the vehicle has not completed, which is the greater of:
 - (*i*) the percentage of the remaining number of miles of the 15,000 miles required; and
 - (ii) the percentage of the remaining number of years of the three years required.

How to Apply:

- A complete application package must be submitted BOTH online and as a hard copy by the submittal deadline:
 - o <u>Online application</u>: Submit the online form and upload the required attachments;
 - Hard copy: Print the completed online application form and mail the signed hard copy along with the required attachments to the Air District at 939 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94019 (Attn: SID: PEV Rebate).
- Each application package must include the following:
 - A complete Application form (hard copy must be signed);
 - Evidence of matching funds from a non-Air District/non-TFCA source to cover any costs of the vehicle that are above the amount provided by the PEV Rebate Program that are required to implement a project. TFCA County Program Manager funding may not be used as matching funds for PEV Rebate;
 - Either a signed letter of commitment or a signed resolution from the governing body authorizing the submittal of the application, identifying the individual authorized to submit the application and carry out the Project, and a commitment for matching funds if they are needed;
 - W-9 (Submit hard copy only; do not upload).