Bay Area Air Quality Management District 939 Ellis Street San Francisco, California 94109 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Legislative Committee Meeting Monday, March 30, 2015

1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Vice-Chairperson Brad Wagenknecht called the meeting to order at 9:38 a.m.

Present: Chairperson Tom Bates; Vice-Chairperson Brad Wagenknecht; and Directors

Scott Haggerty, David Hudson and Karen Mitchoff.

Absent: Directors John Avalos and John Gioia.

Also Present: None.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Jed Holtzman, 350 Bay Area, addressed the Legislative Committee (Committee) in gratitude for the quickened pace of the Committee meeting schedule.

3. CONSIDERATION OF NEW BILLS AND LEGISLATIVE UPDATE [OUT OF ORDER AGENDA ITEM 4]

Thomas Addison, Senior Policy Advisor, delivered the staff report *Consideration of New Bills and Legislative Update*, including discussion and review of new bills.

NOTED PRESENT: Chairperson Bates was noted present at 9:41 a.m.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the staff review of new bills; whether Assembly Bill (AB) 280 Brown would completely bar attorney involvement in the small claims process; and additional details regarding AB 1059 E. Garcia, including its impact on CalEnviroscreen, the reasoning behind the staff recommendation, and what Air District staff are doing to achieve the sought after amendments.

NOTED PRESENT: Director Haggerty was noted present at 10:06 a.m.

<u>Public Comments</u>: No requests received.

Committee Action:

Director Wagenknecht made a motion, seconded by Director Mitchoff, to recommend the Board of Directors (Board) adopt the following positions:

AB 23 Patterson: Oppose AB 280 Brown: Support AB 720 Cooley: Oppose AB 742 Gallagher: Oppose AB 777 Harper: Oppose

AB 945 Ting: Support if amended

AB 1059 E. Garcia: Oppose unless amended and direct staff to communicate the same to

the author

AB 1176 Perea: Oppose

Senate Bill (SB) 1 Gaines: Oppose

SB 5 Vidak: Oppose SB 513 Beall: Support

The motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Bates, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff and Wagenknecht.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Avalos and Gioia.

Committee Comments (continued):

The Committee and staff discussed the subject matter of AB 450 McCarty and staff's reasoning for not proposing a position; whether it would be worthwhile to consider taking positions on AB 761 Levine, AB 1068 T. Allen and AB 1345 Dahle at the next Committee meeting; the subject matter and implications of the passage of SB 786 Allen; the schedules of the State legislature and the Committee; how staff should handle updates to the Committee when a bill that the District has previously adopted a position on either progresses or changes significantly; tentative future meeting date; and the large number of bills regarding cap-and-trade revenue.

Committee Action (continued):

Director Wagenknecht made a motion, seconded by Director Mitchoff, to recommend the Board approve support of bills equivalent to SB 32 Pavley and SB 350 De Leon, which would respectively extend AB 32 and the Renewable Portfolio Standard beyond 2020, as such bills move forward; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Bates, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff and Wagenknecht.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Avalos and Gioia.

4. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF FEBRUARY 26, 2015 [AGENDA ITEM 3]

Committee Comments: None.

Public Comments: No requests received.

Committee Action:

Director Mitchoff made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to approve the minutes of February 26, 2015; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Bates, Haggerty, Hudson, Mitchoff and Wagenknecht.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Avalos and Gioia.

- 5. COMMITTEE MEMBERS' COMMENTS / OTHER BUSINESS: None.
- 6. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

At the call of the Chairperson.

7. ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 10:21 a.m.

*Sean Gallagher*Sean Gallagher
Clerk of the Boards