Bay Area Air Quality Management District 939 Ellis Street San Francisco, California 94109 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Legislative Committee Meeting Monday, March 21, 2016

1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Legislative Committee (Committee) Chair Wagenknecht called the meeting to order at 9:37 a.m.

Present: Committee Chair Brad Wagenknecht; and Directors John Avalos and David

Hudson

Absent: Committee Vice Chair Karen Mitchoff; and Directors John Gioia, Scott

Haggerty, and Shirlee Zane.

Also Present: None.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

No requests received.

3. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF MARCH 30, 2015 AND OCTOBER 26, 2016

<u>Committee Comments:</u> The Committee members present wished to approve both sets of minutes but District staff stated that a quorum would be necessary for action items.

Public Comments: No requests received.

Committee Action: None; due to a lack of quorum.

4. CONSIDERATION OF NEW BILLS

Thomas Addison, Senior Policy Advisor, delivered the staff report *Consideration of New Bills*, including discussion and review of ten new bills.

Committee Comments:

The Committee and staff discussed the fact that there are currently few bills attacking climate, air district enforcement, and California Air Resources Board (ARB) regulatory programs; the increase of bills regarding the following topics: Cap and Trade, Aliso Canyon gas leak in Southern California, clean air equipment at the ports, and disadvantaged communities; District support of SB 535 (De León) (greenhouse gas reduction fund) in order to benefit community air risk evaluation (CARE) communities; related efforts of the Bay Area Caucus; importance of SB

1383 (Lara) (capping emissions of short-lived climate pollutants); clarification of why it is recommended that the District opposes SB 1239 (Gaines) (smog check exemptions); origin and development of SB XXX (bill not yet in print) (De León) (increases SCAQMD Board from 13 to 16 members with specific appointees) and whether or not the BAAQMD is affected; and the District's sponsorship of SB 1128 (Glazer) (commute benefit policies) and SB 773 (Allen) (vehicle registration fraud.)

Director Hudson Hudson requested that the following bills be considered by the Board before the next Committee meeting:

- AB 2170 (Frazier) Directs federal freight funds to 1B's Trade Corridors Improvement Fund
- 2. **AB 2673 (Harper)** Exempts hydrogen refueling station equipment from sales tax
- 3. **AB 1592 (Bonilla)** Autonomous vehicles pilot project
- 4. **AB 2829 (Baker)** Spot bill on Carl Moyer program

Public Comments: No requests received.

Committee Action:

At the recommendation of Committee Chair Wagenknecht, and at the consensus of Directors Avalos and Hudson, the Committee recommends that the Board adopt the following positions as recommended by Air District Staff:

AB 1685 (Gomez): Support

AB 2292 (Gordon): Support in concept

ACR 112 (Hadley): Support

SB 1239 (Gaines): Oppose

SB 1383 (Lara): Support if amended

SB 1441 (Leno): Support

AB 1657 (O'Donnell): Support in concept AB 2055 (Gibson): Support in concept AB 2841 (Allen): Support in concept SB 1338 (Lara): Support in concept

5. COMMITTEE MEMBERS' COMMENTS / OTHER BUSINESS

Director Hudson announced that Contra Costa County may potentially have a new half-cent sales tax bond measure on the ballot in November 2016, with a possible focus on transportation programs.

6. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

At the call of the Chairperson.

7. ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 10:20 a.m.

/S/ Tom Flannigan
Tom Flannigan
Clerk of the Boards