Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Mobile Source Committee Meeting Thursday, January 24, 2019

1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Mobile Source Committee (Committee) Chairperson, Scott Haggerty, called the meeting to order at 9:32 a.m.

Present: Chairperson Scott Haggerty; Vice Chair David Canepa; and Directors David Hudson, Tyrone Jue, Nate Miley, and Karen Mitchoff.
Absent: Directors Margaret Abe-Koga, Pauline Russo Cutter, Carole Groom, Doug Kim, and Jim Spering.

Also Present: None.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

No requests received.

3. AIR DISTRICT GRANT PROGRAMS OVERVIEW (OUT OF ORDER, ITEM 6)

Damian Breen, Deputy Air Pollution Control Officer of Technology, introduced Karen Schkolnick, Strategic Incentives Division Director, who gave the staff presentation *Air District Grant Programs Overview*, including: overview; sources of air pollution and grant funding; over \$97.2 million awarded in 2018 by funding source and project type; 2018 projects awarded (off-road, on-road, trip-reduction, other projects Transportation Fund for Clean Air (TFCA) and Carl Moyer Program (CMP); 2018 emissions reductions; \$96.5 million awarded in the Air District in 2018 by county; 2018 Diesel Free by '33; 2011-2018 zero-emissions projects; funding awarded between 2014-2018; grant funds awarded between 2011-2018; projected grant revenues for calendar year 2019; and 2019 grant program priorities.

NOTED PRESENT: Director Jue was noted present at 9:35 a.m.; Director Miley was noted present at 9:48 a.m.

Public Comments

No requests received.

Committee Comments

The Committee and staff discussed the Mobile Source Incentive Fund (MSIF) allocation that the Air District is paying for the Caltrain electrification project, and funds paid to date; why there is no mention of electric vehicle (EV) charging station infrastructure in the Air District's 2019 grant program priorities; the request for a chart of cumulative emissions reductions in the Bay Area, spanning decades; the amount of school bus compressed natural gas (CNG) retrofit projects that the Air District has funded, and a request for a record of school district participation within the Bay Area; non-air district recipients of Volkswagen mitigation funds and a request for a status update on the Air District's involvement with the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust Beneficiary Plan as an administrator with South Coast Air Quality Management District and the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District.

Committee Action

None; receive and file.

4. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF DECEMBER 17, 2018 (ITEM 3)

Public Comments

No requests received.

Committee Comments

None.

Committee Action

Director Mitchoff made a motion, seconded by Vice Chair Canepa, to **approve** the Minutes of December 17, 2018; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES:	Canepa, Haggerty, Hudson, Jue, Miley, Mitchoff.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAIN:	None.
ABSENT:	Abe-Koga, Cutter, Groom, Kim, Spering.

5. PROJECTS AND CONTRACTS WITH PROPOSED GRANT AWARDS OVER \$100,000 (ITEM 4)

Mr. Breen introduced Madeleine Storelli, Staff Specialist, who gave the staff presentation *Projects and Contracts with Proposed Grant Awards Over \$100,000*, including: overview; CMP and MSIF; Community Health Protection Grant Program (CHP); CMP/MSIF, and CHP project recommendations over \$100,000; projected grant revenues for Fiscal Year Ending (FYE) 2019; funds recommended and awarded by project category and by county since July 2018; status of FYE 2019 incentive funding by source; open solicitations and FYE 2019 funding; and recommendations.

Public Comments

No requests received.

Committee Comments

The Committee and staff discussed factors that discourage particular sub-regions of the Bay Area from applying for various Air District grants; the request that written explanations as to why certain areas are allocated larger amounts of grant funds are added to "Funds Recommended and Awarded by County" charts, moving forward, and the request that a "through" date be added to the same chart, to clarify the period of time when funds were awarded; ways to alert residents that they live in a Community Air Risk Evaluation (CARE) area; the request that staff remind the rest of the Board members to publicize the Air District's grant and incentive opportunities to their constituents; the request for a list of pending grant applications for the Board members' use; and application submission trends.

Committee Action

Director Mitchoff made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to recommend that the Board **approve** staff recommendations; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES:	Canepa, Hudson, Jue, Miley, Mitchoff.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAIN:	None.
ABSENT:	Abe-Koga, Cutter, Groom, Haggerty, Kim, Spering.

6. PARTICIPATION IN YEAR 21 OF THE CARL MOYER PROGRAM AND APPROVAL OF THE 2019 CALTRAIN FUNDING PLAN (ITEM 5)

Ms. Schkolnick introduced Anthony Fournier, Air Quality Program Manager, who gave the staff presentation *Participation in the Year 21 of the Carl Moyer Program and 2019 Caltrain Funding Plan*, including: overview; funding sources; CMP year 21 funding; 2019 Caltrain funding plan; and recommendations.

Public Comments

No requests received.

Committee Comments

None.

Committee Action

Vice Chair Canepa made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to recommend that the Board **approve** a resolution authorizing the Air District's participation in Year 21 of the Carl Moyer

Program and the approval of the 2019 funding plan for the Caltrain Electrification project; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES:	Canepa, Haggerty, Hudson, Jue, Miley, Mitchoff.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAIN:	None.
ABSENT:	Abe-Koga, Cutter, Groom, Kim, Spering.

7. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

No requests received.

8. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

Director Mitchoff asked if the City of Concord or the community of Bay Point have applied for any Air District grants. She also suggested that staff inform the rest of the Board members which communities within their jurisdictions are not applying for Air District grants.

The Committee members thanked Chair Haggerty for his service as Committee Chair, and Chair Haggerty thanked staff for their support.

9. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

Thursday, March 28, 2019, Bay Area Air Quality Management District Office, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, California 94105 at 9:30 a.m.

10. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 10:34 a.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka Marcy Hiratzka Clerk of the Boards