Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, CA 94105 (415) 749-5073

Board of Directors Special Meeting as the Sole Member of the Bay Area Clean Air Foundation Wednesday, May 6, 2020

This meeting was conducted under procedures authorized by executive order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newsom. Members of the committee participated by teleconference.

APPROVED MINUTES

Note: Audio and video recordings of the meeting are available on the website of the Bay Area Air Quality Management District at

http://www.baaqmd.gov/about-the-air-district/board-of-directors/resolutionsagendasminutes

1. CALL TO ORDER

Board of Directors (Board) Chairperson Rod Sinks called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

Roll Call:

Present: Chairperson Rod Sinks; Vice-Chairperson Cindy Chavez; Secretary Karen Mitchoff; and Directors Margaret Abe-Koga, Teresa Barrett, John Bauters, David Canepa, Pauline Russo Cutter, John Gioia, Carole Groom, Scott Haggerty, David Hudson, Davina Hurt, Tyrone Jue, Liz Kniss, Nate Miley, Katie Rice, Mark Ross, Brad Wagenknecht, Shamann Walton, and Shirlee Zane.

Absent: Jim Spering and Lori Wilson.

Also Present: None.

2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF JULY 31, 2019

Public Comments

No requests received.

Board Comments

None.

Board Action

Director Wagenknecht made a motion, seconded by Director Groom, to approve the Board Special Meeting as the Sole Member of the Bay Area Clean Air Foundation (BACAF) minutes of July 31, 2019; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Board:

AYES: Abe-Koga, Barrett, Bauters, Canepa, Cutter, Groom, Haggerty, Hudson, Hurt, Jue, Kniss,

Miley, Mitchoff, Rice, Ross, Sinks, Wagenknecht, Walton.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Chavez, Gioia, Spering, Wilson, Zane.

3. ACCEPT THE BAY AREA CLEAN AIR FOUNDATION'S 2019 ANNUAL REPORT

NOTED PRESENT: Directors Gioia and Zane were noted present at 9:09 a.m.

Damian Breen, BACAF Director, introduced Karen Schkolnick, Air District Strategic Incentives Division Director, who gave the staff presentation *Bay Area Clean Air Foundation 2019 Annual Report*, including: overview; background; Reformulated Gas Settlement Fund (RFG); and recommendation.

Public Comments

No requests received.

Board Comments

None.

Director Kniss made a motion, seconded by Director Cutter, to **accept** the 2019 Annual Report of the BACAF; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Board:

AYES: Abe-Koga, Barrett, Bauters, Canepa, Chavez, Cutter, Gioia, Groom, Haggerty, Hudson,

Hurt, Jue, Kniss, Miley, Mitchoff, Rice, Ross, Sinks, Wagenknecht, Walton, Zane.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Spering, Wilson.

4. ADOPTION OF THE BAY AREA CLEAN AIR FOUNDATION'S 2021 BUDGET

Mr. Breen introduced Stephanie Osaze, Air District Finance Manager, who gave the staff presentation *BACAF's 2019 Financial Summary and 2021 Proposed Budget*, including: overview; 2021 financial summary and Proposed Budget; and recommendation.

Public Comments

No requests received.

Board Comments

None.

Board Action

Director Bauters made a motion, seconded by Director Wagenknecht, to **adopt** the Proposed 2021 Budget of the BACAF; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Board:

AYES: Abe-Koga, Barrett, Bauters, Canepa, Chavez, Cutter, Gioia, Groom, Haggerty, Hudson,

Hurt, Jue, Kniss, Miley, Mitchoff, Rice, Ross, Sinks, Wagenknecht, Walton, Zane.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Spering, Wilson.

5. APPOINT A DIRECTOR TO THE BAY AREA CLEAN AIR FOUNDATION'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Mr. Breen introduced Kraig Kurucz, 2019 BACAF Director, who gave the presentation *Appoint a Director to the Bay Area Clean Air Foundation's Board of Directors*, including: selection of directors; and recommendation.

Public Comments

No requests received.

Board Comments

None.

Board Action

Chair Wagenknecht made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to **reappoint** Damian Breen to a third two-year term as director of the Bay Area Clean Air Foundation; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Board:

AYES: Abe-Koga, Barrett, Bauters, Canepa, Chavez, Cutter, Gioia, Groom, Haggerty, Hudson,

Hurt, Jue, Kniss, Miley, Mitchoff, Rice, Ross, Sinks, Wagenknecht, Walton, Zane.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Spering, Wilson.

PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

6. Public Comment on Non-Agenda Items, Pursuant to Government Code Section 54954.3

None.

OTHER BUSINESS

7. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 9:28 a.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka
Marcy Hiratzka
Clerk of the Boards