Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Climate Protection Committee Meeting Wednesday, September 30, 2020

This meeting was conducted under procedures authorized by executive order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newsom. Members of the committee participated by teleconference.

1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Climate Protection Committee (Committee) Chairperson, Teresa Barrett, called the meeting to order at 932 a.m.

Present: Chairperson Teresa Barrett; Vice Chair John Gioia; and Directors Scott

Haggerty, David Hudson, Davina Hurt, Liz Kniss, Mark Ross, and Brad

Wagenknecht.

Absent: Directors Katie Rice and Shirlee Zane.

Also Present: None.

2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF JUNE 18, 2020

Public Comments

No requests received.

Committee Comments

None.

Committee Action

Director Wagenknecht made a motion, seconded by Director Kniss, to **approve** the Minutes of June 18, 2020; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Barrett, Gioia, Haggerty, Hudson, Hurt, Kniss, Ross, Wagenknecht.

NOES: None.
ABSTAIN: None.
ABSENT: Rice, Zane.

3. PRESENTATION ON THE CLEAN BUILDING COMPASS

Abby Young, Climate Protection Manager, gave the staff presentation *Clean Building Compass*, featuring both the Air District's building decarbonization strategy and a virtual walk-through of the Clean Building Compass website.

Public Comments

Public comments were given by Diane Bailey, MenloSpark; Jed Holtzman, 350 Bay Area; Jan Warren, Interfaith Climate Action Network of Contra Costa County; Debbie Mytels, Palo Alto resident; Bruce Naegel, Sustainable Silicon Valley; Martin MacKerel, San Francisco resident; Bret Anderson, Carbon Free Palo Alto; Scott Shell, EHDD Architects; Jennifer C, Alameda resident; Judy Windt, Menlo Park resident; Diane Schrader, thirdACT; Dawn Kwan; Kelly Hamel, 350 Bay Area; Helena Birecki, San Francisco Climate Emergency Coalition; Betty Kissilove, San Francisco resident; Martin Kupferman, Sebastopol resident; Terry Nagel, Sustainable San Mateo County; Rani Fischer, Peninsula Interfaith Climate Action; and Jennifer Feng.

Committee Comments

The Committee and staff discussed which entity/organization maintains the website; the number of times the website has been visited; the suggestion that equity be addressed when considering the socioeconomic diversity among jurisdictions, and that an environmental justice component be added; whether the website contains language that focused on emission reduction benefits or purpose; whether an abbreviated version of the website's information is offered; the suggestion that this tool be presented to city and county staff in the Bay Area; whether the Air District has authority to regulate indoor air quality; retrofits versus new construction; and the need for a grant program to fund retrofit projects for low-income households.

Committee Action

None; receive and file.

4. OUTREACH ON CLIMATE AND FOOD

Greg Nudd, Deputy Air Pollution Control Officer of Policy, introduced Lisa Fasano, External Affairs Officer, who gave the staff presentation *Outreach on Climate and Food*, including: Climate and Food program; public webinar series; "Healthy Plate – Healthy Planet" webinar series; and upcoming climate and food activities.

Public Comments

Public comments were given by Richard Gray, 350 Bay Area; and Jan Warren, Interfaith Climate Action Network of Contra Costa County.

Committee Comments

The Committee and staff discussed how to view the documentary *The Invisible Vegan*, which is being promoted by Acterra.

Committee Action

None; receive and file.

5. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

Public comments received via electronic mail, and read aloud by Vanessa Johnson, Manager of Executive Operations, were submitted by Woody Hastings, The Climate Center.

6. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS / OTHER BUSINESS

None.

7. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

Thursday, November 19, 2020, at 9:30 a.m. via webcast, pursuant to procedures authorized by Executive Order N-29-20 issued by Governor Gavin Newson.

8. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 11:10 a.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka
Marcy Hiratzka
Clerk of the Boards