# Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

### APPROVED MINUTES

Summary of Board of Directors Nominating Committee Meeting Wednesday, November 20, 2019

### 1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Nominating Committee (Committee) Chairperson, Katie Rice, called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

Present: Chairperson Katie Rice; and Directors David Hudson, Tyrone Jue, and Brad

Wagenknecht.

Absent: Director Cindy Chavez.

Also Present: None.

### 2. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Items, Pursuant to Government Code Section 54954.3

No requests received.

## 3. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF NOVEMBER 7, 2018

# **Public Comments**

No requests received.

### **Committee Comments**

None.

### Committee Action

Director Wagenknecht made a motion, seconded by Director Hudson, to approve the minutes of November 7, 2018; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Hudson, Jue, Rice, and Wagenknecht.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Chavez.

# 4. CONSIDERATION AND NOMINATION OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS (BOARD) OFFICERS FOR THE TERM OF OFFICE COMMENCING 2020

### **Public Comments**

No requests received.

## **Committee Comments**

The Committee and staff discussed whether the Committee is required to follow a strict rotation of county versus city appointments, large versus small jurisdictions, and geographic locations across the Bay Area when selecting Board Officers; the acknowledgement that the current Vice Chair and Secretary are both Santa Clara County representatives; appointments to regional agencies currently held by Board Officer candidates; the extent to which seniority on the Board should be considered; and whether the San Francisco Mayor's Appointee is eligible to become a Board Officer and how that could be achieved.

## Committee Action

Chair Rice made a motion, seconded by Director Wagenknecht, to recommend the Board appoint Vice Chair Rod Sinks as Chairperson, and Secretary Cindy Chavez as Vice Chairperson, commencing 2020; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Hudson, Jue, Rice, and Wagenknecht.

NOES: None.
ABSTAIN: None.
ABSENT: Chavez.

Director Wagenknecht made a motion, seconded by Director Jue, to recommend the Board appoint Director Karen Mitchoff as Secretary, commencing 2020; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Hudson, Jue, Rice, and Wagenknecht.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Chavez.

# 5. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS, PURSUANT TO GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 54954.3

No requests received.

## 6. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

None.

# 7. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Nominating Committee will be at the call of the Chairperson.

# 8. **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 9:18 a.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka Marcy Hiratzka Clerk of the Boards