Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, California 94105 (415) 749-5073

#### APPROVED MINUTES

Nominating Committee Meeting Wednesday, May 18, 2022

This meeting was conducted under procedures in accordance with Assembly Bill 361.

Members of the Committee participated by teleconference.

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER – ROLL CALL

Nominating Committee (Committee) Chairperson John J. Bauters called the meeting to order at 8:47 a.m.

#### Roll Call:

Present: Chairperson John J. Bauters; and Directors Margaret Abe-Koga, Erin Hannigan,

Myrna Melgar, and Katie Rice.

Absent: None.

- 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
- 3. PUBLIC MEETING PROCEDURE
- 4. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF NOVEMBER 17, 2021

### **Public Comments**

No requests received.

Committee Comments

None.

#### Committee Action

Director Hannigan made a motion, seconded by Director Rice, to **approve** the Minutes of the Meeting of November 17, 2021; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Abe-Koga, Bauters, Hannigan, Melgar, Rice.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: None.

# 5. CONSIDERATION AND NOMINATION OF BOARD SECRETARY FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE 2022 TERM

In May 2022, Karen Mitchoff vacated her position as Board Chairperson. Pursuant to Division I, Section 2.1, of the Air District's Administrative Code, Board Vice Chair John Bauters became the Board Chair, and Board Secretary Davina Hurt became the Board Vice Chair. The Nominating Committee discussed nominating a Board member to recommend to the Board of Directors to fill the vacant Board Secretary position for the remainder of the calendar year.

#### **Public Comments**

No requests received.

### **Committee Comments**

The Committee and staff discussed Board members who nominated themselves for the position of Board Secretary; which of the nominated Board members have the most seniority on the Board; and whether any of the nominated Board members have been nominated in previous years.

#### Committee Action

Director Rice made a motion, seconded by Director Hannigan, to recommend the Board **appoints** Teresa Barrett **as** Board Secretary for the remainder of the 2022 calendar year; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Abe-Koga, Bauters, Hannigan, Melgar, Rice.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: None.

## 6. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

No requests received.

## 7. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

None.

#### 8. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

The agenda had said that the next meeting of the Nominating Committee was Wednesday, May 18, 2022, as the full Board was to meet directly after this meeting. However, Chair Bauters disputed that practice, as it was confusing to the public, and he stated, at the end of the meeting,

that the next meeting date of the Nominating Committee would be at the call of the Chair. After the meeting adjourned, the next date of the Nominating Committee was scheduled for November 2, 2022.

## 9. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 8:53 a.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka
Marcy Hiratzka
Clerk of the Boards