Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, CA 94105 (415) 749-5073

Community Equity, Health & Justice Committee Wednesday, March 29, 2023

### **APPROVED MINUTES**

This meeting was webcast, and a video recording is available on the website of the Bay Area Air Quality Management District at www.baaqmd.gov/bodagendas

### CALL TO ORDER

1. **Opening Comments:** Community Equity, Health & Justice Committee (Committee) Chairperson, Davina Hurt, called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m.

### Roll Call:

Present, In-Person (375 Beale Street, Board Room, San Francisco, California, 94105): Chairperson Davina Hurt.

Present, In-Person Satellite Location (11780 San Pablo Ave., Suite D, El Cerrito, California, 94530): Directors Joelle Gallagher, Erin Hannigan, and Steve Young.

Present, In-Person Satellite Location (250 Hamilton Ave., 7th Floor, Palo Alto, California, 94301): Director Vicki Veenker.

<u>Absent:</u> Vice Chair Katie Rice; Board Chair John J. Bauters; and Directors Margaret Abe-Koga, Brian Barnacle, John Gioia, and Nate Miley.

### 2. **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

### 3. **PUBLIC MEETING PROCEDURE**

# 4. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE COMMUNITY EQUITY, HEALTH & JUSTICE COMMITTEE MEETING OF FEBRUARY 15, 2023

Public Comments

No requests received.

Committee Comments

None.

#### Committee Action

Director Hannigan made a motion, seconded by Director Young, to **approve** Minutes of the Community, Equity, Health & Justice Committee of February 15, 2023; and the motion **carried** by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES:	Gallagher, Hannigan, Hurt, Veenker, Young.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAIN:	None.
ABSENT:	Abe-Koga, Barnacle, Bauters, Gioia, Miley, Rice.

## 5. CONSIDER RECOMMENDING THAT THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS DISSOLVE THE PATH TO CLEAN AIR COMMUNITY STEERING COMMITTEE (CSC) APPOINTED BY RESOLUTION NO. 2021-02 TO ALLOW FOR THE CREATION OF A NEW, NON-BOARD-APPOINTED STEERING COMMITTEE WITH A COMMUNITY-LED GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE

Dr. Wendy Goodfriend, Acting Climate Protection Manager, introduced two members of the Richmond Area Path to Clean Air CSC, Marisol Cantu and Alfredo Angulo, who gave the presentation *Vote to Dissolve the Path to Clean Air CSC Appointed by Resolution No. 2021-02 to Allow for the Creation of a New, Non-Board-Appointed Steering Committee with a Community-Led Governance Structure.* Slides included: outcome; outline; requested action; overview of CSC governance; CSC member concern; CSC votes to recommend dissolution; overview of plans for a community-governed CSC; process and timeline; reconfiguration of CSC; creating a new charter; approval of new charter; and feedback requested/prompt.

In addition, Deldi Reyes, Director of the Office of Community Air Protection at the California Air Resources Board, gave remarks regarding the governance styles of AB 617 CSCs in other parts of the state.

#### Public Comments

Public comments were given by Lucas Williams, Esq.; Nancy Peace Aguirre, Member of the Richmond Area Path to Clean Air Community Steering Committee; and Damian.

#### Committee Comments

The Committee and staff discussed how the reconfiguration of the CSC and its new governance structure would not involve the Board's authority, and what role Air District staff and the Board would have with the CSC after it is reconfigured; whether the meetings of the reconfigured CSC would be open to the public, broadcasted, and in person; the anticipated changes in membership after the transition of the CSC; the composition (students, industry representatives, other types of stakeholders) of the current configuration of the CSC; whether criteria to ensure diversity will be utilized when selecting members for the reconfigured CSC; how the current CSC's Governance Ad Hoc Committee is executing the application process for the CSC's new configuration; and concerns about evaluating conflicts of interest for the members of the reconfigured CSC.

#### Committee Action

Director Hannigan made a motion, seconded by Director Young, to **recommend** that the Board of Directors dissolve the Richmond Area Path to Clean Air Community Steering Committee, appointed by Resolution No. 2021-02, allowing members of the communities of Richmond, North Richmond, and San Pablo to set

up a new steering committee, with a community-led governance structure, to lead the development of the AB 617 Community Emission Reduction Plan for these communities; and the motion **carried** by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES:	Gallagher, Hannigan, Hurt, Veenker, Young.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAIN:	None.
ABSENT:	Abe-Koga, Barnacle, Bauters, Gioia, Miley, Rice.

### **OTHER BUSINESS**

### 6. **PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS**

No requests received.

### 7. COMMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

Director Young requested that members of the designated Bay Area AB 617 Community Steering Committees be involved with the implementation of adopted amendments to Regulation 9, Rules 4 and 6 (to eliminate emissions of nitrogen oxides, or NOx, from residential and commercial natural gas furnaces and water heaters in the Bay Area by requiring new appliances to be zero-NOx.)

## 8. **REPORT OF THE SENIOR DEPUTY EXECUTIVE OFFICER OF POLICY & EQUITY**

Veronica Eady, Senior Deputy Executive Officer of Policy & Equity announced that on Thursday, March 30, at 6:00 p.m., the Air District will hold a virtual Compliance and Enforcement Community Meeting on Bayview Hunters Point Air Quality Issues, including updates at key facilities, a meet and greet with current enforcement staff working in the community, answering air quality questions, and discussing ideas on community-engaged enforcement. This idea was created by a member of the Air District's Community Advisory Council, and meetings will rotate to various Bay Area communities, on a bi-monthly basis.

### 9. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

Wednesday, April 19, 2023, at 1:00 p.m. at 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA 94105. The meeting will also be webcast for members of the public.

### 10. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned in honor of the victims of The Covenant School shooting in Nashville, Tennessee, at 10:12 a.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka

Marcy Hiratzka Clerk of the Boards