Bay Area Air Quality Management District 375 Beale Street, Suite 600 San Francisco, CA 94105 (415) 749-5073

Stationary Source Committee Meeting Wednesday, February 19, 2025

APPROVED MINUTES

This meeting was webcast, and a video recording is available on the website of the Bay Area Air Quality Management District at www.baagmd.gov/bodagendas

CALL TO ORDER

1. Opening Comments: Stationary Source Committee (Committee) Chairperson, Ken Carlson, called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Roll Call:

<u>Present, In-Person (Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, 1st Floor Board Room, San Francisco, California, 94105):</u> Chairperson Ken Carlson.

Present, In-Person (Office of Contra Costa County Supervisor John Gioia, 11780 San Pablo Ave., Suite D Conference Room, El Cerrito, CA 94530): Directors Dionne Adams, John Gioia, Gabe Quinto, and Steve Young.

Present, In-Person (Office of Alameda County Supervisor Lena Tam, 103 Callan Ave., Suite #103, San Leandro, CA 94577): Director Lena Tam.

Absent: Vice Chairperson Lynda Hopkins, and Director Brian Colbert.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

CONSENT CALENDAR

3. APPROVAL OF THE DRAFT MINUTES OF THE STATIONARY SOURCE COMMITTEE MEETING OF NOVEMBER 13, 2024

Public Comments

No requests received.

Committee Comments

None.

Committee Action

Director Young made a motion, seconded by Director Gioia, to approve the Draft Minutes of the Stationary Source Committee meeting of November 13, 2024; and the motion carried by the following vote of the Committee:

AYES: Carlson, Gioia, Quinto, Tam, Young.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Adams, Colbert, Hopkins.

INFORMATIONAL ITEM

4. OVERVIEW OF WOODSMOKE REGULATORY CONSIDERATIONS

Dr. Julia Luongo, Principal Air Quality Specialist, gave the staff presentation *Overview of Woodsmoke Regulatory Considerations*, including: outline; woodsmoke background; impetus for this policy initiative; design value trends: fine Particulate Matter (PM); woodsmoke white paper; device population and emissions inventory; modeled geographic variation; modeled disparities in context; PM Spare the Air alerts by year; policies to mitigate woodsmoke impacts; white paper recommendations; lowering the burn ban threshold; PM_{2.5} emissions reduction comparison; device elimination: incentive program scale; white paper public comments; and next steps – initiate rule amendment process.

Public Comments

Public comments were given by Tony Fisher, Coalition for Clean Air; and Todd Osterberg.

Committee Comments

The Committee and staff discussed current rule exemptions for sole source of heat, loss of utility service, and temporary non-functional heaters; whether the phase-out of older, higher-polluting wood-burning devices includes incentives or decommissioning or replacements at point of property sale; the efficacy of requirements for existing Regulation 6, Rule 3, Section 111 (Limited Exemption, Non-functional, Permanently Installed Heater), which requires repair documentation of a non-functioning heater to be submitted to the Air District; whether natural gas fireplaces are subject to current or forthcoming Air District regulations; whether a firepit in a residential backyard is subject to Rule 6-3; and realtors' opposition in 2015 on an Air District proposal that would have mandated the replacement of all uncertified wood-burning devices with gas-fueled, electric or Environmental Protection Agency-certified heating devices that meet or exceed New Source Performance Standard Subpart AAA, upon the sale or transfer of residential or commercial property, and whether the Air District should resume such a rulemaking.

Committee Action

No action taken.

OTHER BUSINESS

5. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDA MATTERS

No requests received.

6. COMMITTEE MEMBER COMMENTS

None.

7. TIME AND PLACE OF NEXT MEETING

Wednesday, March 12, 2025, at 10:00 a.m. at 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA 94105. The meeting will be in-person for the Stationary Source Committee members and members of the public will be able to either join in-person or via webcast.

8. ADJOURNMENT

This meeting was adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

/S/ Marcy Hiratzka
Marcy Hiratzka
Clerk of the Board