

October 15, 2012

BAYAREAAIR QUALITYMs. Deborah JordanMANAGEMENTDirector, Air DivisionUnited States Environmental Protection AgencyDISTRICT75 Hawthorne Street
San Francisco, CA 94105

Dear Ms. Jordan:

The District has completed its evaluation of the application for renewal of the Major Facility Review Permit for the following facility:

Application Number	Facility Number	Facility Name	Address	Type of Operation
A5472 and A9013	18703	BFI The Recyclery, and International Disposal Corporation of CA (Newby Island Landfill)	1601 Dixon Landing Road Milpitas, CA 95035	Solid Waste

The District has made a preliminary decision to issue the renewal Major Facility Review Permit, but the final decision on the permit issuance will consider public and EPA comments on the proposed permit. The notice inviting written public comments will be published in the Mercury News. The final date for members of the public to submit comments is November 28, 2012.

The initial Title V permit for this facility was issued on February 5, 2004. A description of any subsequent revisions to the permit can be found in Section X of the permit entitled "Revision History". All proposed changes to the current permit are shown in strikeout/underline format.

The proposed permit and statement of basis can be viewed on the BAAQMD website at: <u>http://www.baaqmd.gov/Divisions/Engineering/Title-V-Permit-Programs/Title-V-Permits.aspx</u>. We will also send the documents to you via the Electronic Permit

Submittal System. If you have any questions regarding this project, please call Dennis T. Jang, Senior Air Quality Engineer, at (415) 749-4707.

Very truly yours,

Signed by Jeff McKay for Jack P. Broadbent Jack P. Broadbent Executive Officer/Air Pollution Control Officer

Tom Bates Scott Haggerty Jennifer Hosterman Nate Miley (Secretary)

CONTRA COSTA COUNTY

ALAMEDA COUNTY

John Gioia (Chairperson) David Hudson Mary Piepho Mark Ross

MARIN COUNTY Katie Rice

NAPA COUNTY Brad Wagenknecht

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY

John Avalos Edwin M. Lee Eric Mar

SAN MATEO COUNTY Carole Groom Carol Klatt

SANTA CLARA COUNTY

Susan Garner Ash Kalra (Vice-Chair) Liz Kniss Ken Yeager

SOLANO COUNTY James Spering

SONOMA COUNTY Susan Gorin Shirlee Zane

Jack P. Broadbent EXECUTIVE OFFICER/APCO

JB:DTJ:myl