Thursday, December 10, 2020

The Air District commends Governor Newsom’s appointment of board member Davina Hurt to the California Air Resources Board.

Spare the Air Status

Hurt has been on the Air District board since January 2020 and is chair of the Ad Hoc Committee on Equity Access and Inclusion. She is a Belmont city council member, attorney and environmental advocate. For the City of Belmont, Hurt has also served as mayor, vice mayor and planning commissioner.

The California Air Resources Board focuses on California’s unique air quality challenges by setting the state’s own stricter emissions standards for a range of statewide pollution sources including vehicles, fuels, and consumer products.

The California Air Resources Board consists of 16 members. Twelve are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the state Senate. The other four include two who represent environmental justice communities and two nonvoting members appointed for legislative oversight, one each from the state Senate and Assembly. In July 2018, the CARB Board established staggered six-year terms for voting members. 

View press releaseLanguage Icon Globe.

Last Updated: 12/10/2020