Monday, March 08, 2021

The Air District's Board of Directors is announcing the establishment of a community steering committee to help guide the development of the Community Emission Reduction Plan for the Richmond-North Richmond-San Pablo area.

Spare the Air Status

Under the Air District’s Community Health Protection Program, the Richmond- North Richmond-San Pablo area was selected as a priority community due to its high cumulative exposure burden to air pollution. In accordance with California Assembly Bill 617, the state directs local air districts to work with heavily impacted communities on emission reduction programs and/or air quality monitoring campaigns.

The appointed members for the Community Steering Committee include:  

Alfredo Rafael Angulo-Castro
Amanda Booth
Arto Rintella
Bret Andrews
Darlena David
Darlene Rios Drapkin
Dave Severy
Erika Ramirez
Fabiola Reyes
Francisco Avila
Gloria Ruiz
Hakim Johnson
Heidi V Swillinger
Henry Clark
Jeffrey L Kilbreth
Jessica Range
Jim Holland
Kevin Ruano Hernandez
Lizbeth Ibarra
Lizette Bernal
Lucia Castillo 
Micaela Zaragoza-Soto 
Nancy Aguirre 
Omoniyi Omotoso 
Patricia A. Daniels 
Phillip Mitchell 
Roberta Feliciano 
Suzanne Coffee 
Vernon Whitmore 
YAnad Burrell

In September, the Air District and a committee of individuals including community organizers, environmental justice advocates, and neighborhood groups, as well as education, public health, government, and industry stakeholders in the Richmond-North Richmond-San Pablo area released Path to Clean Air, a first-of-its-kind air monitoring plan that defined the geographic boundary for air monitoring, air pollution sources of concern, and air monitoring objectives.

The ongoing monitoring and results from this plan will help inform the new emission reduction plan as well as other ongoing air quality improvement efforts outside of the AB 617 process.

View press releaseLanguage Icon Globe.

Last Updated: 3/8/2021