Electric Vehicle Coordinating Council

Sharing knowledge to accelerate electric vehicle adoption across the Bay Area and beyond.

The Bay Area Electric Vehicle Coordinating Council, or EV Council, is a peer-to-peer forum of diverse stakeholders that meets several times a year, often hosting expert panels to discuss new EV trends, information, and best practices for projects.

Members represent a cross-section of EV stakeholders from all nine Bay Area counties:

  • charging infrastructure and technology companies
  • auto manufacturers
  • city and county staff
  • transit agencies and authorities
  • federal and state government agencies
  • utilities and community choice aggregators
  • interest groups
  • regional entities

Acterra and Cool the Earth facilitate the EV Council.
The facilitators are nonprofits fighting climate change with a combined two decades of experience in the EV sector, offering consumer education and leading in policy advocacy to ensure an equitable transition to clean transportation.

Meeting Calendar

Upcoming meeting times and locations will be posted below. 

Recordings and any additional meeting materials will be added when available.

Click the plus sign (+) to view past meeting recordings and materials.

Closed captioning may contain errors and omissions and are not certified for their content or form.

Page Loading

Join the EV Council

Stay connected with the EV Council by clicking the subscribe button near the bottom of this page. By subscribing, you will receive notifications about upcoming Council meetings, newsletters, and other valuable EV Council resources.

The EV Council invites all interested parties including individuals, organizations, and government entities to join in the meetings, actively contribute to discussions, and collectively work towards a sustainable transportation future.

Steering Committee

The EV Council benefits from a steering committee that advises the facilitation team on industry developments and helps shape meeting topics and format. Steering committee members connect with other industry thought leaders and actively contribute to important discussions. Members commit about six hours per year to steering committee meetings. We seek to have a broad representation of sectors on the steering committee.  

Steering Committee Members:

  • Nicole Appenzeller, San Francisco Environment Department, Senior Clean Transportation Specialist
  • Maureen Blanc, Charge Across Town, Executive Director
  • Rachel DiFranco, City of Palo Alto, Utilities Program Services Manager
  • Mikaela Hiatt, TAM, Associate Transportation Planner
  • Phillip Kobernick, Peninsula Clean Energy, Senior Transportation Programs Manager
  • Ted Lamm, UC Berkeley School of Law - Center for Law, Energy & the Environment, Senior Research Fellow, Climate
  • Sarah Moore, City of Berkeley, Sustainability Program Manager
  • Vivian Rahwanji, Community Housing Development Corporation of North Richmond, Director of Operations
  • Stacey Reineccius, Powertree Services Inc., CEO
  • Jennifer Sajor (Alternate), City of Berkeley, Electric Mobility Coordinator
  • Tessa Sanchez, Tesla, Senior Policy Advisor
  • Gopal Shanker, Récolte Energy, President
  • Heidi Sickler, BP Pulse Fleet, Energy and Environment Senior Associate
  • Zac Thompson, Ava Community Energy, Senior Associate, Energy Resources Program
  • Francesca Wahl (Alternate), Tesla, Senior Charging Policy Manager
  • Brett Wiley (Alternate), Ava Community Energy, Senior Program Associate, Electric Mobility

Acterra Contact Information

If you would like to be considered for the steering committee, please contact the facilitator at EV.Council@acterra.org.

Funding Navigator Working Group

Established in February 2024, the Funding Navigator Working Group aims to simplify access to grants for EV-related projects. Our focus is on compiling a comprehensive list of federal, state, and local opportunities. We are creating a user-friendly system for cities, nonprofits, transportation agencies, and utilities to find funding for EV, electric mobility, and charging infrastructure projects. Comprising experienced EV professionals, the Working Group anticipates completing this resource by June 2024, to be announced to the EV Council.

Working Group Members:

  • Kara Gross, Silicon Valley Economic Development Alliance, Executive Director; Public Sector Climate Initiatives, Joint Venture Silicon Valley, Director
  • Brendan Havenar-Daughton, Contra Costa County, Energy Manager, Capital Projects Management Division
  • Mikaela Hiatt, Transportation Authority of Marin, Associate Transportation Planner
  • Dulce Jimenez, Solano Transportation Authority, Assistant Planner
  • Suzanne Loosen, EV Allies, Clean Fuels Advisor
  • Joy Massey, MCE, Senior Customer Programs Manager, Transportation Electrification
  • Monica Meagher, BART, Sustainability Group Manager
  • Jennifer Sajor, City of Berkeley, Electric Mobility Coordinator
  • Megan Schmiesing, GRID Alternatives, Program Manager
  • Henna Trewn, San Francisco Environment Department, Clean Transportation Program Manager
  • Maya Wolf, PG&E, Clean Energy Transportation

Electric Vehicle Resources

Funding Opportunities

Contact Us

Acterra (Facilitator)


Contact Us

Spare the Air Status

Last Updated: 2023/7/18